Picture
I didn't expect that this lipstick can be as dry as an old pastel crayon stuck in a drawer for years.  

This was really the initial reaction i had when i first applied Mac Ruby Woo on my lips.  The first aplication didn't even seem to cover heavily on my lower lip as the dryness refuses to color my lips fast and solid-strong.  

And yet, I still find Ruby Woo as one of the sexiest red red red lipsticks there is:)
My recent purchase of Mac lipstick has got to be Ruby Woo, I said to myself months ago after purchasing Mac candy yum yum (click on link for my write up on lipsticks and some tints _) which has neon pink shade.  

Though I met Ruby Woo during my first Mac purchase, I still chose Mac Russian Red as it was very well-recommended by the Mac booth attendants.  Perhaps as a first time user of the brand Mac, they knew that Ruby Woo would quite surprise me (and perhaps turn me off!) But it didn't. 

After reading few reviews about Mac Ruby Woo, I decided to give it a try and see what they really meant by Ruby Woo causing the lips "dry."

Ruby Woo: How was it then?

My verdict: well. It-is-dry. Mac Ruby Woo has a matte-finish just like Russian Red except that Ruby Woo is seriously FLAT and DRY.  Russian Red, though matte and likewise dries my lips a lot, has a shinier finish and thus smoother effect (like by 2%) compared to Ruby Woo. 

Picture
Mac Ruby Woo costs 1000php in Mac Trinoma.  You can check it out and apply it on your lips to see if it fits "your kind of lipstick." 

I can say that I'm a little "sadista" when it comes to my lips as i do not have the habit of putting on lip balm and/or lip gloss to smoothen it.

I like my lips dry and chapped.  I don't feel comfortable with sticky, shiny lips (don't ask me why, I really do not know why I have that kind of preference).  
 i supposed this is the very reason why I fell in love with the brand Mac, especially their matte lipsticks as it is the only brand that makes my lips real dry compared to other brands that have matte-labels but produce satin-finish on the lips. 
Picture
Picture
Shown here in the picture are MAC russian red, retro and ruby woo swatches:
 top pictures shows  ruby woo (first application).
left picture: 
first line is russian red
second line is retro
third line is ruby woo
on a pale/ fairer skin (white complexion).

Meanwhile, the right side of the picture shows the same order of lipstick swatches only applied on a medium-skin complexion.

So far, Ruby Woo completed my most coveted Mac top finalists!  

(1) Russian Red though is still my favorite. Classy and lovely. first application, you get the red red red that you want!
(2) Creme Puff (not on the picture) is the least of my favorite because it has a pale pink almost nude effect that makes me look sick when i apply it.
(3) Candy Yumyum is the most girly and fashionable barbie pink lipstick that I have so I carry it with me whenever my mood suddenly swings.... :)
(4) Retro is perfect for laid back style as it is simple and offers a sub-fashion statement that gives lovely look in a photo. It is not daring so i love wearing it in an ordinary day. (it was given to me by my loving auntie, Tita Ann).
(5) Ruby Woo is now my second favorite Red lipstick. i love the way it creates smudge, it gives me a rockstar bold red attitude.  

"it's red, and hell i care if it smudges!

Picture
first application difference: upper lip--> russian red (shinier than ruby woo, covers heavily) lower lip--> ruby woo (flat, doesn't cover well because of dryness hence when you try to kiss on a paper, the lower lip (with ruby woo) doesn't leave print because of its dryness while upper lip (russian red) leaves a very good print don't you think?:)
Picture
Mac Ruby Woo is flat and hence it is perfect even worn in a bright broad daylight.  It doesn't look off yet it still gives that classy smeared or stained-look.  If you are planning to purchase Ruby Woo, i hope you are warned about it.  As for me, really, am enjoying it:) 

Tell me what you prefer: dry lips or shiny/glossy one and why? I'm not closing doors to that glossy pout:) C'mon share! :)

comment below!:) xoxo

caroleenish:)
Picture
caroleen wearing Mac Ruby Woo.
iya
8/22/2013 09:03:39 am

You bought all those lipies???

Reply
caroleen
8/22/2013 09:47:00 am

hi iya! yes! hehe.all Mac lippies in this blog photo are all mine:) i bought them one at a time of course.:) my first purchase are russian red and creme puff, retro is given by my tita, ruby woo is my latest purchase:)

collection, sort of. and i like lipsticks that's why!

Reply
iya
8/22/2013 09:13:10 am

I think retro is nice. Do you have a photo with it?

Reply
caroleen Joy Ileto
8/22/2013 09:51:51 am

i havent featured retro yet but i have photos, i can tag you one from facebook:)

Reply
iya
8/22/2013 09:13:38 am

I think retro is nice. Do you have a photo with it?

Reply



Leave a Reply.


fashion, women, make up, cosmetics, events, make-up, cosmetics, lipsticks, Mac cosmetics, Mac, summer, reviews, Palawan, benefit cosmetics, swimwear, wedge, healthy options, muay thai, kickboxing, gym, shoes, dress, Palawan, jobs, careers, women, girls, motherhood, single parenting, single parent, toddlers, preschool